Fortnite Servers Down, Preventing Players From Logging Into The Game

Online services issues are afflicting Fortnite players, apparently making it impossible to login to the game. As many took to Twitter to voice their frustrations, developer Epic Games acknowledged the problem and said it was working on a solution.

Many players seem to be dealing with an error message when trying to enter Fortnite, but judging from the ongoing discussion on social media, many who were already logged into the game already are continuing to play. But those trying to sign on are encountering trouble at the title screen, which claims some users don’t have permission to play the game. The trouble seems to be affecting all versions of the game.

No Caption Provided

According to Epic Games’ online services status page, game services, logins, and the Epic Games Store website are all suffering a “major outage” as of this writing. “We have identified an issue with logins and some players may have trouble connecting to Epic Games services,” Epic wrote on the page. “We will keep you updated as we work towards a resolution.”

Other portions of the online service, like forums, friend lists, and in-game matchmaking, are still operational, the page reports.

The outage is particularly frustrating for anybody working to complete Ice Storm challenges during the timed Fortnite event. Ice Storm was officially scheduled to end overnight at 1 a.m. PT / 4 a.m. ET / 9 a.m. GMT on January 29, when scheduled maintenance would add update 7.30 to the game. Epic hadn’t said how long it intended the update to last, but it looks like it will add the Chiller Grenade to the game once it’s complete.

Source: GameSpot.com

Leave a Reply